Kombucha, apple sauce, marinara and more during naptime


SCOBY

I have never been busier, and I am off of work for just one more week. I can’t tell you how much I am digging being home with my children all day. I love having more than just a thirty minute meal on the table when Jeff gets home. This is greatness. I would have never known that my dream job would be a stay at home mom. That is my dream job. And writer. Cooking show host. Food critic.

I finally succeeded in getting Quinn to take a fat nap today. During that time, I brewed my first batch of ginger infused kombucha with lots of help from http://www.kombuchakamp.com, made a SCOBY hotel (Symbiotic Culture Of Bacteria & Yeast), homemade marinara sauce, apple sauce, and prepped some of my raw milk for butter production tomorrow.

So I was thinking about my whole objective of this blog. I am not here to tell you about the whys of what I do, but rather the how. There are tons and tons of food documentaries and articles that tell why. But, how do you ear properly on a budget and with such a busy lifestyle? That is what I strive to find. I will list all of my sources and the professionals whose material led me to believe the way I do. I can’t possibly explain their subject matter better than they can. So, I won’t. When passion takes over I may try, but will keep it breif, leave a link to their site, and call it a day.

So Kombucha. Basically, fermented food is awesome for gut health (http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2009/11/10/Dietitian-Says-Eating-Right-Is-Best-Way-to-Optimize-Good-Gut-Bacteria.aspx). Why gut health? It is linked to our immune health. I once tried fermenting some veggies, became frightened I molded them instead and tossed. Kombucha is pretty safe and easy to brew, so why not? Now, the SCOBY is SCARY looking. Once I became aquainted with my two SCOBYs, they’re not so bad. They look like musrooms, but are really a bacterial yeasty pancake. Yummy. It actually is pretty good. It is a little vinagary, but it is a wonderful detoxifier, probiotic, and great for the gut flora. Should I put a disclaimer that I am not giving medical advice? I’m not. Just what works for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Happiness Hungry for Change Project

Leave a Reply

